Which Exit Are You

If I had only known that this picture was waiting for me in my e-mail, I wouldn’t have needed to use a random thought for the day! Oh well. C’est la vie!








My brother actually sent me this image. This is comical to me for a few different reasons.

For starters, my brother is the typical “New York” driver. He has no patience for other drivers and it’s his way, no matter what. With that in mind, these exits are perfect when I think of riding with him at various points. Other drivers become ungrateful bitches when they don’t merge quick enough and he “allows” them to merge. On the flip side of that coin, those very same drivers quickly become insensitive assholes when they don’t merge quick enough and then “cut off” my brother’s car. Keep in mind that these other drivers aren’t actually putting my brother in any harm to the extent that he needs to cram his brakes. They just bother him because he needs to either slow down so he’s doing the speed limit or he needs to merge into the other lane to avoid the need to slow down.

Secondly, these signs make me think about life in general, not just life on the road. People (unfortunately my generation and later generations) seem to be more and more of a me-me-me mentality. These signs simply reinforce that theory for me. No longer are people objective and forgiving. They are now categorized as insensitive and uncaring. With that me-me-me focus, people no longer look at themselves as a cause of their unhappiness, but believe that it is others that cause their unhappiness. It’s quite disheartening when I actually think of it this way.

Finally, in thoughts of motivators and slackers, it could appear that the ungrateful bitches are those for whom the grass is always greener on the other side. No matter how much they may have in life, it is never enough. These people then become those who complain that nothing is fair in life and that they want what others have. On the opposite end of that argument, you have the insensitive assholes who are ruthlessly cut-throat in their endeavors. These people are the movers and shakers of society. They are the ones that set out on an idea and see it through to fruition, potentially at the cost of others. The unfortunate part of life is that for every success, there has to be a demise elsewhere to balance it out. Many times, those succeeding in life are categorized as assholes simply because they take a hard approach to things.

Overall, I find the signs comical and wanted to share them. My thoughts on them are of course simply my thoughts. And I guess that ultimately that is all that matters.

Leave a Reply

