Startling Wake Up

I know I was going to talk more about Sorgstock, but I’m sure it will be covered by various others in attendance (i.e. Sorg, Doc Remedy, DjLunchbox, Chachi, Jen and perhaps others). It was while perusing various images from the weekend that I realized I need a true life intervention.

I know I’m overweight, but I don’t think I had realized how terribly overweight I actually am until I saw those photos. It’s frightening when I see the images! All I can think of is my younger sister who is almost morbidly obese. When I look at her and think I won’t be that way, I now see these photos and think I’m closer than I had realized.

I’ve been doing a little bit here and there, and I’ve lost some weight. But I think I’m going to actually put forth an active effort on it after seeing these images.

On that note, if anyone knows of any volleyball leagues (I love volleyball) or perhaps someone who plays some tennis and would be looking for someone to participate (I’m not great, but I can learn). Maybe there’s someone in the south hills who knows of a good gym and may be looking for a gym buddy. I’ve pretty much just made the determination that I will start doing whatever I can to make it happen. My goal at this point is to lose at least 60 lbs as quickly (without deterring my health of course) as possible.

3 thoughts on “Startling Wake Up

  1. I wish you luck on the way to your goal. It sucks I don’t live closer…it would be my pleasure to have you kick my ass in tennis and volleyball.If you need need twitter moral support during the day, just say the word…Lord knows I need it.

  2. 60 pounds is a lofty goal. It’s not safe to lose that much very fast. Last year I lost 25 pounds and dropped 2 dress sizes and it made an amazing impact on my energy level and quality of life. I am looking to lose about 25 more pounds this year (as 8 or 9 have crept back). I know it will take a while and I am pacing myself. Slow and steady wins the race, srsly.I would love to learn how to play tennis, I wonder if you’d have the patience for me though, I’m pretty stubborn and retarded when it comes to sports. I played volleyball in high school, I wonder if I can still bump it like I used to 😉

  3. locobone – Thanks for the support. I kinda wish you lived closer too, as you have shown enough interest to indicate you would play some tennis and/or volleyball with me if you did live closer. Between you, me, Jennie and Sorg, we could have a good couples game going for tennis, or one heck of a doubles volleyball game too.jennie – I know 60 pounds is lofty. I don’t intend to lose 60 pounds in the next week. It just sounded good at the time. 🙂 Congrats on your loss of 25 last year. Oddly enough, I think I found your 25 somehow. I think I may want to look into a volleyball league (if you’d be interested). I hope you can still bump like you used to! (I also hope I can still set like I used to…)

Leave a Reply

