Homework?

I am out of town for a few days and return to find another homework assignment from Ms. Papuga. “This week’s assignment is not just a mere “What’s going on here?” exercise. Who are these men? What are they talking about? Whatever history you choose to include, only one thing is required: What bit of information is causing the look on the one man’s face?

So here goes:

Sam took a deep breath as he finally broke his silence, “You know, Fred, I can’t believe I got away with it. That woman drove me to the brink of my sanity.”

Fred, awestruck and curious could only ask, “But how did you do it, Sam?”

To which Sam responded without dropping a beat, “It was easier than I thought. I carefully sanded the bottom of her cane so it was unlevel. When she started down the stairs, gravity took over. The cane went out from under her and she toppled head over heels down the stairs. The best part was that the cops thought I was just a senile old man who thought my wife had gone to a better place, all because I was having a hard time keeping that smile off my face.”

One thought on “Homework?

  1. Oh, now that was fun!! It makes me want to hear the nagging of the wife, or to see the look on the man’s face day after day when she talks about how much she hates their daughter in law… Thank you!! Brilliant means of homicide, by the way… sanding the cane… Could you leave a link to this page in my comments? Or a trackback to your post? I’m trying to keep track of who is doing what and where!!

Leave a Reply

