I <3 Social Media

So I’ve been involved with this awesomely wonderful group of people planning PodCamp Pittsburgh 3. The best part of it is that I’ve never been to a PodCamp…not even PodCamp Pittsburgh 1 or 2. I attended a planning meeting with Mike earlier in the year because he didn’t have time to stop home to drop me off first.

I relatively sat off to the side and let them do their meeting, but was taking mental notes about various facets of what PodCamp entails. On the way home from the meeting, I had many questions for Mike. He told me to get more involved with it if that’s what I wanted to do. And, oh have I?

Throughout the past few months, Mike has created a social media monster. I am on Twitter, Facebook, MySpace, LinkedIn and Plurk. I have my own blog. If I am unable to catch up with online friends through any of these resources, I tend to get a little cranky. This makes me realize that I may actually have a problem.

When I go home to Western New York to visit the family, I am without internet. I am without my cell phone. I am without any feasible means to communicate. I have to literally go to the end of the driveway to pick up an inkling of the minutest signal so that I can check my text messages and reconnect.

Needless to say, social media has become a very large part of my personal identity. I have my evening routine when I get home from work. I grab the mail from the mailbox, walk in the house, turn on my laptop, pay attention to the critters while the laptop boots up, enter my password, open the mail while my computer loads, and then I check my e-mail (all 3 accounts), pull up my Plurk page, pull up my Twitter page, Facebook page and MySpace page.

It’s sad when I think about it, but if I don’t get a chance to plug in, I almost fiend for internet connection. If Mike and I are driving somewhere right after work, I either use his iPhone or my smart phone to try to catch up.

I like to rationalize that I am making actual, physical, live, human being friends through my social media interaction. The majority of the people I’ve “met” online, I actually know in real life through one way or another. I have actually hung out with some of the friends that I’ve met on a regular basis, either through PodCamp meetings and affiliated hangout times, social brunches or just random meet-ups with friends and their friends.

Leave a Reply

