WTF Blogger?

So I realize that blogging about your blog host in an inappropriate manner may not be the smartest thing to do, but I seriously need to say something about this.

I logged into my account to post, and found the following notice with regard to my creative writing blog:

“This blog has been locked and unpublished due to possible Blogger Terms of Service violations. You may not publish new posts until your blog is reviewed and unlocked.
This blog will be deleted within 20 days unless you request a review.”


I clicked on the link to figure out how to fix it, and then got this message:

“Blogger’s spam-prevention robots have detected that your blog has characteristics of a spam blog. (What’s a spam blog?) Since you’re an actual person reading this, your blog is probably not a spam blog. Automated spam detection is inherently fuzzy, and we sincerely apologize for this false positive.
You won’t be able to publish posts to your blog until one of our humans reviews it and verifies that it is not a spam blog. Please fill out the form below to get a review. We’ll take a look at your blog and unlock it in less than two business days.
If we don’t hear from you, though, we will remove your blog from Blog*Spot within a few weeks.
Find out more about how Blogger is fighting spam blogs.”

Are you even serious? This is crazy! I understand that there are bots out there, but I filled out profile information and created specific content for my blog. I uploaded a picture! It is linked through my blogger profile. How can you think a bot “created” the blog?

So I have jumped through Blogger’s hoops and I’m hoping that I will be able to post more of my creative thoughts in the near future.

2 thoughts on “WTF Blogger?

Leave a Reply

