NaBloPoMo # 21: Where Oh Where Can My PittGirl Be?

Imagine, if you will, the lyrics from the Pearl Jam hit “Last Kiss” with regard to all of the commotion surrounding PittGirl‘s unexpected departure from the Pittsburgh blogging community.

As a relatively new member of the social media community, the lore of PittGirl is one which rivals that of Bigfoot or the Loch Ness Monster to those of us in Pittsburgh. There hasn’t been a social media event I’ve been to (Blogfest, PodCamp Pittsburgh, etc.) which hasn’t made some sort of mention of PittGirl.

The best part of PittGirl was her ability to maintain her secret identity. Only a handful of people knew her true identity. And, part of the fun was guessing. Granted, the guesses were mostly outlandish, but everyone had a great time with it.

Not knowing PittGirl, and only recently becoming part of the whole thing, I feel as though I have missed out on a special part of Pittsburgh’s social media development. As a general rule of thumb for me, I don’t jump into following someone’s blog unless I have either met that person or have an interest in them for whatever reason. And, once I add someone to my blog roll, I generally play catch-up and read back through previous posts.

After having recently befriended PittGirl through Plurk and Twitter, I was just getting to the point where I was going to settle in for a long weekend of reading through her little corner of the internet.

And alas, I will no longer be able to do so. All of the tales I’ve heard, will become part of the urban myth which is PittGirl.

Whatever her rationale for doing so, everyone reaches a point when they must move on. And, for PittGirl now is that time.

And, as I missed the ode through Twitter earlier today, I guess I may as well jump on the boat now.

I am PittGirl.

Leave a Reply

