NaBloPoMo # 30: What’s In A Last Name?

Mike and I have been married for 4 years. In that 4 years I must have been asked at least a dozen times if I’m related to this person with the same last name, or that person with the same last name.

I received a similar question this morning at work, via e-mail from another office.

Is it assumed that just because I have the same last name as someone that I should know whether or not my husband’s family is related to that person? Granted my last name is not the most popular of last names, such as Smith or Jones where it can only be assumed that I am not related to every single last person with the same last name, but come on.

Additionally, the last name is my husband’s family name. I have only been in the family for 4 years. There are still many family members that I probably have never met. And, there are many others who I may have met only once or twice and may not recall. It’s not like these people are asking me if I’m related to people with the same last name as my maiden name. It would be more likely that I would know those people since I’ve had the last 29 years to get to know them. I’ve only known my husband’s family for a very small portion of that….

If my last name were Bush, would people assume that I must be related to the President? If my last name were Tyler would it be assumed that my father is Steven Tyler? I didn’t think so. So, for the love of all that keeps me sane in this world, please stop asking me if I’m related to anyone you may know who happens to have the same last name as me.

Leave a Reply

