NaBloPoMo # 31: Happy Thanksgiving


Today is Thanksgiving Day. And, I am unable to be home with my my family as Mike and I are celebrating with his family. It’s okay. When we got married, we determined that Thanksgiving would be spent with his family each year and Christmas with mine.

Although I don’t get to spend the day with my grandmother, my mom and dad, my brother, my sister and all my aunts, uncles and cousins, I still get to share a little bit of the Thanksgiving I knew growing up.

Last year was my shining moment amongst Mike’s family Thanksgiving dinner. It was the first Thanksgiving since his grandmother passed away.

When we got to Grandpap’s, I immediately asked what I could help with to get dinner going. I was a great help to Mike’s mom and aunt as I jumped right in and helped with preparations.

I got a call from Mike’s mom asking that I be at Grandpap’s early today so I can again help. I have found my niche with the family after 4 years of being a helpful assistant by washing dishes, setting the table, etc. I am now up front and center with the holiday preparations. And, it makes me feel very useful.

This morning started off with the baking of two pumpkin pies which I can take along with me to Grandpap’s house. It makes me feel like I was when I was kid, helping Grandma make her Thanksgiving pies. The house would be filled with so many wonderful holiday scents.

Grandma always made a bunch of pies. She would have 4-6 pumpkin pies made, 2 apple pies, 2 mincemeat pies and blueberry pies. We would spend a whole day baking pies.

When I moved away from home, I made certain to get Grandma’s recipe for Pumpkin pie. Now, no matter how far from home I may be for the holidays, I can always have a little piece of home with me.

Happy Thanksgiving to all. May your day be blessed with peace, hope and happiness.

Leave a Reply

