That New Car Smell

Okay, so I don’t have a new car.  But, I have a lot of new other things now that I think about it.  I also think I had perhaps forgotten about this little corner of the internet.  I know that when I last blogged I was apparently starting out with NaBloPoMo.  (Please note that “starting out” part…apparently that’s as far as I got.)

For what it’s worth, a lot has changed since that lonely  November post:

1.  I have a new job!

Yes, you read that correctly.  I finally decided that the pressure and issues with my other job weren’t going to change, and that the only way to end the vicious cycle was to “break up” with my employer.  It wasn’t an easy decision, but it was a decision that I made nonetheless.

The new job is a 180 degree change from my other job.  For starters, I am no longer working third-party litigation.  I am now working solely workers’ compensation.  Secondly, I am no longer working for the injured parties.  I am now working for the insurance companies.  (Say what you want, there’s guaranteed pay, and much, much less stress involved.)

As with any change, it was a difficult road.  I kept second-guessing whether I was making the right decision.  Although I was upset about my other job, I at least knew what the pitfalls were.  Going into a new office and a new environment, I didn’t have that comfort anymore.  But, now that I’ve been at the new job for a few months, I feel like I’m gaining some solid ground with it.

2.  I have a new size!

For the first time in more than 4 years, I have finally seen my waistline begin to shrink.  With the stress from everything with my other job, no matter what I was doing (diet, exercise, etc.), I simply wasn’t losing weight.  On the contrary, I just kept gaining weight.  That trend is now broken.  I have successfully lost my first 10 pounds.  I am back into wearing pants that I have not fit into for more than 2 years.  I feel healthier.  I feel more alive.  These are all good things.  And, I’m not stopping there.  My goal is to get back to the size I was when I met Sorg.  I realize it’s going to take more than 10 pounds, but the fact that I’ve already lost 10 pounds is (I believe) a very good starting point.  There’s nowhere to go from here but down as far as I’m concerned.

3.  I think I may have found my writing muse.

In an effort to maintain “regular” posts on here.  I think I’m going to set a standard focus.  My love of cooking and my newfound weight loss have inspired me to share.  I think I’ll use it to share some of the new recipes I’ve found along the way.  I think I’ll use it to share my monumental weight loss moments.  And, I think I’ll use it to share my reviews of some of the weight loss tools I’ve used along the way.  At this point, I’m using a few different sources to assist in my weight loss plans.  Once I have more of a chance to get things going and see how (if) they’re working, I’ll do a review or something.

4.  Oh yeah, I have a new laptop.

One of the biggest reasons that I haven’t been writing, let alone getting online in general, is that my laptop has been giving me issues for the past few months.  And, by issues, I mean freezing up while performing the smallest tasks, completely shutting down when I try to access anything internet, and the screen completely going black because there’s a wiring issue and when I would open the laptop, it was apparently causing the wires to short or do something they shouldn’t have been doing which would literally cause the screen to black out.  The computer was still on, but I couldn’t do anything because I couldn’t see.  But, the crown jewel of defective hardware came about last week when I turned the computer on and could smell an electrical burning smell.  After that, Sorg and I decided that after over 4 years of service it was time to retire my old laptop and get a new one. 

Needless to say, the only thing I’ve done all weekend is play with my new toy.  Part of that has led me to rediscover my blog.

Leave a Reply

