There’s a Sauna in the Kitchen

That of course would be because I apparently wait for the hottest time of year to find myself in a baking binge.  I can’t get enough baking in.  I baked an apple pie early Friday morning. (I woke up early and couldn’t sleep.  So of course I would bake something, right?)  I baked another apple pie and cupcakes Saturday for the Secret Agent L thing.  I baked brownies Sunday.  And, I baked zucchini muffins tonight.  This is all of course after I baked a double batch of brownies last weekend for the Pirates tailgate. 

I really don’t know what it is, but it seems that all I really want to do is bake as of late.  Granted I’m not saying it’s a bad thing, but it is not ideal timing with the horrid heat (and worse yet – humidity) that is customary for Western Pennsylvania this time of year.  I guess it wouldn’t be that bad if we had central air.  But, of course we don’t.  So, I have the window AC unit blasting in the dining room window with the ceiling fan and a table-top fan redirecting the air into the kitchen. 

Am I a glutton for punishment?  Maybe.  But, I really do love creating delicious little pieces of heaven to share with others.  The first apple pie went to my friend Michelle as a thank you for inviting me along for the Burgh Mom outing Friday evening, as well as for offering me a ride to get there.  The second apple pie went to Secret Agent L, with the cupcakes making a gesture for the attendees at the event.  The brownies yesterday found a good home at my friend Melissa’s when we stopped by for a visit with her and her family.  And, the zucchini was a gift from the neighbor’s garden that found its way back to them via a 1/2 batch of muffins.  (The other half has been sworn to stay here because Sorg really likes them.)

Giving my baked goods away is always a win-win in my book.  In addition to brightening someone else’s day, I also have the opportunity to get them away from me so I’m still able to stick to my diet.  With that being said, I already have ideas kicking through my head about what I can make tomorrow.  For now?  I think I’m going to grab another muffin for Sorg.

p.s.  They look good, don’t they.

2 thoughts on “There’s a Sauna in the Kitchen

Leave a Reply

