The Waiting is Horrible

I consider myself a rather patient person.  And, I think I’ve been patient through the infertility issues over the past four years.  But, now that I’ve actually sought help for it?  The waiting is killing me.  We just have to see if things have worked out . 

I must admit that I’m learning more and more about the specifics of the reproduction process through all of this.  And, there are lots of helpful websites and message boards that go over things in great detail.  The problem that I have is wading through all of the information and confirming information through actual medical sources.  It seems that the majority of what I’m reading is from individual posters, such as personal blogs, message boards and whatnot. 

One of the things that I find a little disconcerting is that when I went in for my bloodwork two weeks ago, the doctor told me to go ahead with the injection and progesterone supplements.  He didn’t really tell me what to do or expect after that.  And, of course by “he” I mean my doctor’s staff who actually called and told me what my doctor wanted me to be doing. 

I’ve looked up everything from a step-to-step guide through the assisted fertility process to information about the medications and hormone therapy my doctor has me doing.   One of the “good” things I’ve found is that the progesterone supplements will aid in the process following conception, but that if I happen to not conceive, then it will trigger the process to start my period.  So hopefully if things didn’t work out this time, I won’t be waiting four months or so for my cycle to start again.

In the meantime, I picked up some pregnancy tests to get that ball rolling over the next week or so.  So I’m crossing my fingers and saying a few prayers that things worked this time.  If not, I know what’s in store for me over the next few cycles to see if we can make this happen.

2 thoughts on “The Waiting is Horrible

  1. Fingers crossed for you. I have a few friends dealing with similar issues of different origin. But as my buddy Nate said after many tries, the best part about having a baby is making one 🙂

Leave a Reply

