It’s Not Ectopic

The good news at the moment:  It’s apparently not an ectopic pregnancy.  Which is good.  Because that would have been more involved, more physically and emotionally painful, and just generally a process I’m glad I don’t have to deal with.

With that being said, the miscarriage is now official to the extent that I knew to expect it following the discussions with my doctor’s office, but that it is now actually physically underway.  Add nausea brought on by the cramping, and we’re in for a great day! I’ll be hanging out in the easy chair with my heated blanket and occasional visits to the ladies’ room while downing plenty of Motrin…Pretty much relaxing as best I can at the moment.

Although it would have been nice to tell the doctors they were wrong, (and I was sooooo hoping they were) they weren’t.

I’ve been able to get my head wrapped around what’s going on.  I realize that miscarriages occur when there’s a problem with the pregnancy.  And, I’m okay with that.  Was it something wrong with the embryo/fetus?  Was it something wrong with me?  Either way, it wouldn’t have been a good thing for the pregnancy to go to term, so my body is addressing that issue naturally.  I really do get that.

And, being the “glass half full” kind of person that I am, I am seriously holding onto the hope that we were actually able to conceive.  With the great team of physicians and nurses that I’ve been working with over the last year, I am hopeful that we can figure out where this one went wrong, so that next time I can write about the new things I’ll be going through as an expectant mother.

Thanks to everyone for their thoughts and prayers.  Although I am generally understanding and accepting of things the way they’re going, I do have my moments.  And the thoughts and prayers from friends and loved ones have given me strength to get through this mentally as well as physically.

2 thoughts on “It’s Not Ectopic

  1. Oh hon, I am so very sorry. I don’t know how I missed the earlier posts, please forgive me.

    I miscarried too. It sucks. And happens for SO many reasons. None of which you had anything to do with. And yay! You were able to get pg, which is huge in the IF world.

    Hugs girl. If you need anything you know where to find me. Again, I am SO sorry.

    • Thanks. I’m hopeful. And, like you said, I was actually pregnant! That’s a HUGE thing for me. The past couple of days have been rough going. I hope my doctor’s appointment Thursday morning has some positive news. (Sorry for the delayed response – it’s been a long and exhausting few days.)

Leave a Reply

