What in the H-E-Double Hockey Sticks is Going On?

Just a forewarning: this may be a TMI type of post, but dammit, I’m writing it!  Consider this your official notice that reading forward is your own decision.

I woke up Tuesday morning, and everything was fine.  I was in the same “waiting for the other shoe to drop” status I’ve been in for the last 12 weeks.  I went to work.  Everything was fine.  And, then I went to the ladies’ room.  Thankfully, I carry some “girly stuff” with me at all times.  Irregular cycle and all, it’s been my MO since I started this whole shedding my uterine lining thing some 18 or so years ago.  (Wow, I feel old writing that part.)

And there it was, just a little hint of brownish red color.  Nothing more than a faint smudge smaller than a penny.  But, it’s clearly there.

Up to this point, I haven’t had much cramping or anything, so it kinda took me by surprise.  Now the question becomes whether I’m starting my monthly cycle (finally) or is implantation bleeding?  I mean, it’s not enough to say so either way.  So I utilized my girly stuff stash and went back about my day, with that question plaguing my thoughts.

By the end of the day, I realized that a liner would have been more than sufficient, as there wasn’t much going on.  All I know is that something appears to be up, and I can’t call Dr. Wakim’s office for Day 1 reporting until there’s more going on in that department. (They consider Day 1 to be full flow before noon – and I have to wait to call until I meet that criteria.)

On to Wednesday.  There’s a little bit of cramping in my low back now.  Okay, so this appears to be Aunt Flo afterall.  I add some girly stuff to my morning routine, and we’re ready to head out the door.  When I hit the ladies’ room to check things out a little bit later, I find that there is still nothing to write home about.  I’m still spotting.  My back is killing me.  And, I have a bit of a headache.  By the end of the day, there was no real change in the status of things.

Thursday was about as uneventful as the rest of the week.

Friday is where things start to get even more confusing.  I wake up Friday morning, hit the shower and put in a liner.  My plan is that if things get heavier today, I can just pull out the heavy artillery later.  And, if things continue the way they have been, I won’t need anything more than a liner anyway.  My morning trip to the ladies’ room reveals *da da da* *wait for it* NOTHING.  I think I may have actually scratched my head while sitting there staring blankly at NOTHING.  Out of an abundance of caution, I opted to keep the liner thing going.  It would totally be my luck to remove the liner and then have an armageddonesque smatter of bleeding (not that a liner would really do much under those circumstances in all reality – but at least it would be better than nothing).  And, I was glad that I had opted to remain with the liner.  By the end of the day, the liner was plenty good enough for the still little bit of spotting.

So this is where the confusion at the moment lies.  Is it my monthly?  Or is it implantation bleeding?  Or is it something completely different? I spent a good bit of the evening yesterday scrounging the internet for some clues.  Maybe this is where I went wrong?

It seems that the majority of sites out there indicate that implantation bleeding does not last more than 1 day…2 days at most.  I’m talking FOUR DAYS HERE FOLKS!  So, it doesn’t look like it’s implantation bleeding.  I’m also not experiencing the sheer exhaustion, breast tenderness, heightened sense of smell, or any of the other signs of early pregnancy either.

But, knowing my cycle, I’m not ready to write it off as my period either.  (Yes, I said it.  I didn’t just dance around it like I usually do.) Normally when that happens, especially after not having one for a while, I’ll have massive amounts of bleeding, horrendous cramping, and there’s no question that it’s my period.

In an abundance of caution, I took a pregnancy test this morning.  It’s negative.  I’ll be testing again in another week or two, just in case.  But, I really have NO idea what’s going on at the moment.  The only basis of comparison I have at this point is the confirmed pregnancy just before Christmas.  And at that time, I had full flow before noon, prompting me to call my doctor’s office thinking that it was the start of my period.  When they did the bloodwork, that’s when we found out I was pregnant.

So here’s to hoping we can narrow down what exactly is going on, and hoping that I’m either pregnant and it’s simply too early to test for hCG (yay!) or starting my period so we can re-start fertility treatments (yay?).

One thought on “What in the H-E-Double Hockey Sticks is Going On?

  1. I had the same symptoms you are having when I got pg with the twins, fwiw. OTOH, your first period after a m/c can be a little wonky (mine was as well).

    I suggest getting pg tests from the dollar store. No, not kidding. They are actually MORE sensitive then the ones everywhere else, they just use less dye (making it harder to see), but this way you can test, a lot, without ruining jr’s college fund.

    Keep in mind if it IS implantation spotting (WHOOO!), your hcg would be at 8? (1-2-4-8). Too little for the tests.

    No matter what happens, good for you for seeing the positive. Not knowing what’s next was, for me, the worst part of infertility.

Leave a Reply

