Rough Holiday?

It’s Black Friday.  Which means, yesterday was Thanksgiving.

My holiday started out rough with the news that one of my friends passed away late in the afternoon on Wednesday.  I worked with her at my first law firm after moving to Pittsburgh.  She was the yin to my work yang.  We worked tandem until the firm split a few years back.  We kept in touch as best we could given our busy schedules, but I realize now how I should have made it a point to keep in touch no matter what.  So, heading into the holiday I’ve had a dark shadow creeping in.

I had planned to spend the actual holiday with my in-laws, helping out in the kitchen as I usually do.  But, someone else had a different plan.  I woke up in the wee hours of the morning, sicker than a dog.  I spent the majority of my Thanksgiving Day in bed, with the few moments I was out bed spent in the little girl’s room revisiting anything that I had tried to put into my stomach (mostly Sprite and medication).  Between that and the headache that engulfed my entire head, yesterday was spectacular.  Not only did I miss out on helping with Thanksgiving dinner, I missed dinner.  (But, Sorg did bring me back a plate so I can have some when I’m feeling up to it.)

But, despite feeling like crap, there was a bit of news that came in late yesterday afternoon that made the holiday that much rougher.  My brother, who was helping out at the cafe when we first opened, and who left to go back to Virginia shortly thereafter, e-mailed a grim suicide note to my mom, my aunt, and a couple of his friends yesterday afternoon.  When my mom tried to reach him, there was no answer.  So, Mom, Dad and my sister drove from Western New York to Virginia last night.  While on the road, my sister tried to reach out to local authorities in my brother’s area, while my mom tried to reach out to my brother.  Thankfully, my brother turned up at his one friend’s house to return/gift some items to her prior to furthering his plans of suicide.  She was home, and brought him inside to talk to him.  If she hadn’t been home, God only knows what would have happened.

I texted my mom briefly this morning, and she indicated that they were trying to get some rest.  But, for all intents and purposes, things seem to be okay for the moment.

Needless to say though, it’s been a rough holiday.  And, here’s to hoping that everyone else’s was a little brighter.

3 thoughts on “Rough Holiday?

  1. Oh, goodness, I’m so sorry to hear about your friend, and the scare with your brother. I have a sister who has struggled with depression and suicidal feelings. It’s such a scary thing to have a family member to worry about that way.

    I hope you are feeling better, that you find the space to grieve for your friend, and that your family pulls together to help your brother. Many thoughts and prayers are with you.

  2. How scary. I hope today is a better day, if even meaning that you can eat something. Please give your family big hugs from me.

  3. I’m so sorry about your friend. I hope that your brother is able to find the strength to get through this. And I hope that you are able to find some peace this weekend and enjoy that plate of leftovers.

Leave a Reply

