Woohoo! Week 1 Marathon Training Complete

So yeah…I’m really getting on board with this whole marathon training thing. The Couch to 5K app on my iPhone? GENIUS!

I’m definitely not the picture of health. Between a car accident that makes it difficult to move sometimes, and hormonal issues which make losing weight difficult, added to that whole metabolic change due to getting older, I have definitely put on some weight over the past decade. What I’ve realized is that carrying around the weight of another half a person has its limitations.

I realize that if there is ever a possibility of a zombie apocalypse, I would be zombie food. (Rule No. 1: Cardio.). I also realize that I just want to stop being overweight. One of the biggest deterrents to fixing both of those is that when I try to start a workout plan, I wind up picking something that I get in a couple workouts, feel like I’m dying, and just stop.

The Couch to 5K program I’m working on has been pretty easy going, while secretly kicking my butt into shape. I’ve been running (primarily in my basement because of the crappy weather). I push myself through the program, and the next thing I know, I’m working on the programmed cool down.

Granted, I’m still at the start of the training, but I really am feeling good about it. I’m thinking that if the Couch to 5K goes as well as it has been, I may actually be able to step up my workout and get back into the Jillian Michaels 30-Day Shred.

I’ll let you know how that goes!

One thought on “Woohoo! Week 1 Marathon Training Complete

  1. I did about 4 weeks of c25k, then adopted twins and it all went downhill from there. I loved it though! I promised I’d get back on it by the end of February…

Leave a Reply

