Happy New Year

It’s officially the New Year.  Just like 99% of the world, I’m making some resolutions.  Granted, some of my resolutions are the standard New Year resolutions that practically everyone makes in some capacity.  But, I wholeheartedly and earnestly want to attain some of them.

So here’s my “to-do” list for 2013:

  • Lose Weight:  I have actually been working toward this goal already.  Sometime in August of last year I started pushing myself toward weight loss.  I started counting calories, getting into healthier habits, and joined a gym.  Although I have seen some progress, there is still plenty of work that I need to do to get myself down to a healthy weight.
  • Spend More Time on Me:  This is a rough one for me.  Don’t get me wrong, I do take time now and again to do something I like to do.  But, I find myself doing things more for others than for me.  I want to pick up a hobby or something this year.  Something I want to do.  And something that I will enjoy doing.
  • Blogging:  When I started this blog however long ago, it was with the intent to write something daily.  If you roll through the history, you’ll see that I have failed miserably with this task.  I am hoping that the New Year will give me something that I can enjoy writing about, and provide content.  Perhaps I can even combine this resolution with my spending-more-time-on-me resolution and write about whatever hobby it is I decide to do.
  • Giving Back:  I have been involved with some community activities organized by friends (PodCamp, Chachi Plays, etc.) over the past few years.  I like those projects.  They give me a sense of doing something good.  But, ultimately, those projects last a few months, and the rest of the year, especially around the holidays, leaves me feeling like I could be doing more.  So, this year, I resolve to do something awesome and give back to those who need it.
  • Hanging With Friends:  I tend to fill my days quickly.  Between work, pets, home, and whatever obligations I make, I find myself either having to bail on plans with friends or having a hard time penciling in time with them.  This year, I want to make it a point to reinstate monthly dinner and/or brunch at home.  It’ll combine my joy of cooking and baking with hanging out with friends, and it will make me more likely to tidy up more often.  Sounds like a win-win-win if you ask me.

While I know (because we all know) that I will probably fall off the wagon with at least a few of the items on this list, I am hoping that having it all in writing here will at least try to keep me a little more on task.  So, here’s to the New Year and the “new” me (hopefully).

Leave a Reply

