4 AM Is Really Early

And, so I found this out this morning.  In keeping with my efforts to get back on track with regard to weight loss efforts, I not only set my alarm, but actually got up and going when it went off at 4:00 this morning.

I am divided when it comes to morning workouts.

In general, I prefer morning workouts.  Despite waking up at the seemingly ungodly hour of 4:00, it’s really not that bad.  The gym is generally less crowded at that hour.  I have also come to find that I get more out of a morning workout in that it gets the blood pumping and gets me going.  In general, it also seems that when I do morning workouts I get more bang for my buck.  I don’t know why, but a week’s worth of morning workouts tips the scale lighter than a week’s worth of afternoon/evening workouts.  Morning workouts are also more beneficial in that evening workouts keep me awake, and I have a difficult time falling asleep.

The biggest issue I have with morning workouts is time.  If I go to the gym closest to me, it opens at 5:00.  By the time I get settled in a locker and on the machines, it is 5:15.  I get a 30-minute workout in on the first machine.   After wiping down that machine and switching to the next, I’ve got another 5 minutes down.  And, it’s already 5:50.  I have to be at work by 8:00.  And, I am driving in the start of morning rush hour, which means I have to leave more time to get from Point A to Point B.  So, I know I need to leave the gym no later than 7:15, but preferably by 7:00.  This, in turn, means I need to hit the showers by 6:30 to ensure that I am ready to leave by 7:00 or a little thereafter.  Doing the math, this means that I have about another 30 minutes on a second machine.  Or, I can do 15 minutes on a couple of machines.  Either way I look at it, I am not getting as much of a workout in when I hit the gym before work.

Hopefully I’ll get into a good groove soon and figure out the best workout schedule.

Leave a Reply

