And Then There Was Cake

As we know, I enjoy baking.

A lot.

So, when I was commissioned to do a wedding cake for a couple of my dear friends, I was of course all aboard.  (And, super excited.)

One of the best things about me doing the cake for this wonderful couple is that they can, quite literally, have any flavor they want.  I sat down briefly with them a little bit ago, and told them to pretty much think out what options they wanted to try.  They did so, and provided me with the following list:

  • Almond Torte
  • Mint with an Oreo/Chocolate filling
  • S’mores
  • Fudge with an Oreo filling
  • Vanilla with Strawberry filling
  • Carrot

With this list, I worked my magic, and came up with the following:

Wedding Cake Samples 1

 

From top to bottom, the flavors are as follows:

Row 1: Almond Torte Cake with Dark Chocolate Cream Filling

Row 2: Mint Oreo Cake with Chocolate Oreo Filling

Row 3: Chocolate Cake with Marshmallow Graham Filling

Row 4: Fudge Oreo Cake with Vanilla Oreo Filling

Wedding Cake Samples 2

 

From top to bottom, the flavors are as follows:

Row 1: French Vanilla Cake with Strawberry Filling

Row 2: Carrot Cake with Cream Cheese Filling

Row 3: Coffee Cake with Maple Bacon Filling

Row 4: Almond Cake with Dark Chocolate Filling, Mint Oreo Cake with Chocolate Oreo Filling, and Chocolate Cake with Marshmallow Graham Filling

All of the cakes were topped with delicious vanilla buttercream icing.

To clarify, the wedding cake flavors did not include the coffee/maple/bacon concoction.  That little treat came into play when the groom-to-be decided to be funny in suggesting it.  Little did he know that being a friend of mine, that I would deliver on that sample!

All-in-all, it was great.  I got to spend some time with some great friends, and was so happy to see that they loved the samples I brought.  While I am not going to spoil their decision on cake flavors that were chosen, I can certainly say that their cake is going to be fabulous.  (And, I am super excited about making it for them!)

Leave a Reply

