So, That Was Fun

Today was my first day in California for vacation.  Thanks to my late (and long) flight, I slept like a baby (once I finally made it to the house – after an almost 24-hour day).

I palled around with my mom and dad, spending as much time as I could with them for my first day seeing them since Christmas.  We didn’t do a whole lot of stuff, pretty much ran some errands and did some shopping.

Oh, and then there was Wienerschnitzel.

My aunt doesn’t normally eat much “junk food.”  When my mom told me of her love for Wienerschnitzel, we had to stop for lunch.  First off, their sign promotes 5 KINDS OF CHILI CHEESE FRIES!  What?!?!?!

Chili Fries

(Photo courtesy of Wienerschnitzel website.)

But, then I saw the variety options for their chili cheese dogs.  And, I was in heaven.  Guys, they have a Junkard Dog!  The description of the dog: “Everything but the kitchen sink is served on this Wienerschnitzel favorite!  An original grilled Hot Dog is topped with French Fries, world famous Chili sauce, a slice of American cheese, French’s mustard and grilled onions all on a hot, steamed sesame seed bun.”  Now, truth be told, I was interested in the dog because of my childhood watching WW(F)E.  Children of the 80s remember the wrestler The Junkyard Dog, right?  As the wife of The Wrestling Mayhem Show, I of course had to have one.  (And, it was oh, so delicious!)

Not that my entire day was surrounded by food, but when we got back to my cousin’s house after our outing, we decided (much later in the day, I assure you) to go out for dinner.  Walking out to the car, Mom took a bit of a tumble when her foot slipped off the edge of the sidewalk – so much so, that she swore she had broken her foot.  Dinner turned into a trip to urgent care.  Turns out that dear ol’ Mom severely sprained her ankle and foot.  So, she’s off work and on crutches for the next couple of weeks.  While we had a week of touristy things (visiting Yosemite, for instance) scheduled, it looks as though we’ll be taking it a little easier for the week.

We’ll see how things are in the morning.  Here’s to hoping Mom mends quickly.

Leave a Reply

