What’s Up, Friend?

I don’t have many close friends.  I have a ton of acquaintances – very, very few “friends.”  And, I’m okay with that.

For reference: Friends are those folks that I trust my house key with, or who I call if I find myself in need of something, and I know that the question asked in response to that need is simply, “When do you need me?”

There are more folks I would do those sorts of things for than who I would lean on to do them for me.  Don’t get me wrong, I’m not trying to single out which friends I prefer over others.  It’s just that if I call you a “friend” know that that title is not something I go around calling many people.  It is something you have earned, and with it comes my love, support, and quirkiness.

If you’re one of the lucky people who I’ve given my direct number to, count yourself among the uber-super-blessed.  I don’t text often, but if I do text you, you’ve moved to the front of the class as far as my inner friendship circle is concerned.   I can probably count the lot of you on the fingers of one hand.  (Okay, maybe both hands.  But, you get the idea.)

Just know that I’m not usually the type of person who needs to have constant contact.  Even if you haven’t heard from me in a little bit, it doesn’t mean that I’m mad at you, or I don’t want to see you and hang out with you.  It simply means that I realize we’re all busy adults living our own lives, and things come up.  Life happens, and I often feel like I’m intruding on others’ lives if I reach out.  (Add to that the fact I’m generally socially awkward, and you’ve got the perfect combination of a shy, social introvert, trying not to be that girl when dealing with varying interactive settings on a day-to-day basis.)

Leave a Reply

