Oh, Bijou

Why is it that fluffy ones always seem to grab your heart strings and pull them in just the right way so as to bring a slight tear to your eye?

Sorg and I have been rather busy over the last week or so. Although we spend time with our “kids” there are days like today when a hectic work schedule and an active social schedule tend to pinch into that time.

And boy does Bijou lay it on thick when we finally get home. You’d think that we had been gone for months.

Today was no different. Mike and I left early this morning to go to work, and tonight we had a meet up event to wrap up some thoughts from PodCamp. Although we were home for a bit before heading to the South Side for the meet up, Ms. Bijou let us know that she wasn’t happy that we were leaving. She just stood there as Mike and I headed to the door, with her little tail wagging, watching and waiting for some indication that she could tag along.

She stood in disbelief as we closed and locked the door. And, as we got in the car and started to drive away, she climbed to the back of the sofa and stood on the window sill to look out at us.

Our meeting was maybe two hours long, so we were home at a reasonable time. And, the furball met us at the door with her tail wagging. Mike let her outside to do (as he so lovingly refers to it) Bijou things. When she came back in, she couldn’t decide whether she wanted to sit in the chair with me or sit on the much roomier sofa with Sorg.

So, she opted to guilt me into moving in the chair so she could jump up with me. I loved her and petted her and hugged her for a few minutes. I figured I had smothered her enough and stopped, to be advised otherwise by her cold, wet nose. Not once, not twice, but three times she nuzzled her nose until she located bare skin beneath the fabric of my sleeve. And boy is her nose cold!

But what could I do? So I loved her and petted her and hugged her for a few more minutes before pointing at Mike and telling her that he wanted some love too. So she jumped down and curled up on the sofa with Mike.